Henley.

Just watched Don Henley’s episode of Austin City Limits, and it was predictably incredible.

I think I have more vivid memories connected to Don Henley songs than any other artist.

Boys of Summer: I’m driving in my old Jeep, windows down, going way too fast on the 130 toll road back before they started policing it, on my way to and from Houston.

All She Wants to Do is Dance: I’m eating biscuits and gravy in a strip mall diner somewhere outside Guadalupe State Park.

New York Minute: I’m at my gate at Sky Harbor before 7 am the morning after a wedding wearing a hoodie and sunglasses indoors like the Unabomber because I’m running on two hours of sleep.

End of the Innocence: I’m in West Texas on a run to Lubbock to play a gig at the Blue Light, staring out the window of the band van at all those windmills.

Heart of the Matter: Well, I’m a million different places all at once.

Leave a Reply

